Monday, December 10, 2012

Prep football: Kinnan, Sandberg earn 7A honors

photo by Grant Jefferies
 Cord Sandberg is once again the class of Class 7A.
Manatee's senior quarterback was named Player of the Year in Class 7A by the Florida Dairy Farmers and is a nominee for the Mr. Football Award for the second straight year.
Joe Kinnan was named the Class 7A Coach of the Year.
Sandberg for 2,672 yards, 35 touchdowns and an interception for Manatee, which went 13-1 and fell to Fort Lauderdale St. Thomas Aquinas during Friday's 7A state semifinal.
Sandberg earned 208 points, easily beating Boyd Anderson's Gregory Hankerson (85) and Kissimmee Osceola's Stafon McCray (66).
Sandberg and Yulee's Derek Henry (4A) are the only repeat winners.
Other Mr. Football nominees include Tampa Wharton's Vernon Hargreaves III (8A), Columbia Laremy Tunsil (6A), Lake Nona's Tucker Isreal (Class 5A), Henry (4A), University School's Mike White (3A), Belle Glade Glades Day's Kelvin Taylor (2A) and Trenton's Cedric Stokes (1A).
Kinnan's competiton for Coach of the Year are Orlando Dr. Phillips' Rodney Wells (8A), Gainesville's James Thomson (Class 6A), Tampa Robinson's Mike DePue (5A), Booker T. Washington's Tim Harris (4A), University School's Roger Harriot (Class 3A), Dade Christian's Mike Sonneborn (2A), Trenton's Andrew Thomas (1A).

No comments:

Post a Comment